Skip to content

139 days to go

December 30, 2010

Painting 2: Repetition

A couple of years ago when I was studying industrial design in New York, I had a hazelnut cappuccino from Mike’s coffee shop for the first time. I found it so delicious that for the next 3 years, at 4pm exactly, I would cut class and treat myself together with a cigarette. Anyone who knows me well enough knows that this scenario is likely and that I am not making this stuff up.
Its true, I like routines.
There is something very comforting about knowing what lies ahead of you.
But things do change. I moved from New York and I quit smoking. However, the love affair with routine and repetition has only grown.
Painting 2 has been a psychological trip, and I see a lot my own idiosynchrasies shaping up this painting, like repetition: numerous concentric rings, the repetitive planes jutting out, curves multiplying themselves, the consecutive MDF slats, the lot, as you can see from the detail below.
Yours truly,
Rainman


Comments are closed.